Mission: Off We Go!

Tomorrow, my high school youth group leaves for Alaska!! 18 kids, 5 leaders, and 10 days exploring Sutton, Anchorage, and Seward, all hosted by Eaglecrest Alaska Missions.

After months of planning, I can’t believe it’s tomorrow!

18920443_10155085037240546_7027901637143145155_n
The first time our group hung out together at Art Prize!

As we prep to leave, please join me in praying for:

  1. Safe travels: we leave tomorrow at 4:30 AM (!!) and return the afternoon of the 27th.
  2. Safe choices: between hiking glaciers, demanding service projects, and integration with local kids, my prayer is that we make healthy physical, emotional, and spiritual choices (and that the insurance forms we filled out before we left will not be necessary).
  3. Safe spaces: in the morning and in the evening, my kids will be given opportunity for personal and group devotional time. I know that God will meet us in these special moments if we are paying attention!

Because this is my first time facilitating a mission trip, I am incredibly grateful for a stellar team of leaders who took initiative, and for kids who spent time getting to know each other all year. If you’re the praying type, remember us in prayer over the next 10 days!

I am excited, I am nervous, and I am eager to see what happens next.

Author: aedewaard12

Wife. Pastor. M.Div. Reformed. Feminist. Runner. Enneagram Activist. Mediocre Writer. Lover of the Bible. People call me Aud (it suits me).

Leave a Reply

